image

There was a large crowd this morning at William Hawrelak Park in Edmonton for the Santa Shuffle 5K Fun Run and the Elf Walk 1K or 2.5K. It was -5 degrees Celsius but there was no wind. Great winter running weather.

My wife and I did the 5K run. None of the races were chip times but I recorded my own time and had my personal best for a 5K! This race is in support of the Salvation Army and anyone who raises $50 in donations gets a free t-shirt (red cotton).

The 5K course was 2 laps around the park. There were a lot of people with strollers and a few with dogs but the road was wide so there were no problems with congestion. Crossing the finish line, Santa hung a beautiful finishers medal around my neck. There were also prizes for the top 3 male and female finishers but I never saw them; they were done well before I got there.

image

Free refreshments after the race included oranges, juice boxes, granola bars, popcorn, hot chocolate, and water.

We had a great time in support of a great cause and the volunteers were very friendly and helpful.

image

